Ericsson Hatfield, First Place winner
Division 1 (Ages 22-35)
2018 Young Composer Competition

Ericsson Hatfield wins First Place in the 2018 Division 1 national Young Composer Competition.

Ericsson Hatfield wins First Place in the 2018 Division 1 national Young Composer Competition.

Ericsson Hatfield’s Constellations for violin quartet has won First Place in Division 1 of the 2018 Young Composer Competition.

Ericsson Hatfield is a 22-year-old native Floridian who has been studying the violin for almost two decades. He has attended prestigious programs such as the Meadowmount Academy for Strings and the European American Musical Alliance. Along the way he has won praise for his virtuosity and sensitivity to the colors of the violin. He began his composition studies seriously as a freshman at New York University while still majoring in violin performance. He is dedicated to leading a life as a full musician — as a performer, composer and educator to the highest degree. Additionally, he was trained in the visual arts by his father and enjoys sailing.

As the winner of the Tribeca New Music 2018 Young Composer Competition, Division 1, Ericsson received a $1,000 award, and his piece Constellations was performed to a full house on the Tribeca New Music 2018 Festival concert, December 13, 2018 at Nancy Manocherian’s - The Cell, in New York City.

Runners Up and Merit Awards
Congratulations to everyone who participated in this national competition.  In addition to the First Place piece, Tribeca New Music wishes to acknowledge some of the other exceptional works that were entered:
• The Runners Up category recognizes the top tier of compositions that were in contention to win.
• The Merit Award category recognizes those who have shown great promise with their entries.

Runners Up

Michael Lee for his Farewell… for String Quartet
Charles Peck for his Sunburst

Merit Awards

Alex Berko for his Comedy Club
Brian Buch for his From the River Flows the Stars No. 6
Ryan Carraher for his Ritual Clowning
Aaron Cecchini-Butler for his wayward pine : sanctum / sawdust / ember / pitch
Qi Jing for his Mecurial
Thomas Kotcheff for his bang Z
Kevin Laskey for his (this is not an) Etch A Sketch
John Prevendini for his Downstream
Tony Solitro for his Shadow Confrontations
Kyle Tieman-Strauss for his Muscle