Grant Luhmann, First Place winner
2016 Young Composer Competition

Grant Luhmann

Grant Luhmann

Grant Luhmann’s Arborea for solo violin and electronic track has won First Place in Division 2 of the 2016 Young Composer Competition.

Minnesota-born composer Grant Luhmann's works have earned performances by ensembles such as the GRAMMY-winning Parker String Quartet, the Duluth Superior Symphony Orchestra, the Encore Wind Ensemble, and many others. A frequent recipient of state and national honors, he has earned a 2014 BMI Student Composer Award, a 2013 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composers Award, three ASCAP finalist designations, and more. In summer 2015, Grant spent a month studying at Institut de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique (IRCAM) in Paris, learning from some of the world's leading composers, acousticians, programmers, and philosophers while creating a new work.

Grant currently attends Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music, pursuing a B.M. in composition with a concentration in oboe performance. Primary teachers include Sven-David Sändstrom, Aaron Travers, Don Freund, and Libby Larsen, and he also studies oboe with Roger Roe and Linda Strommen. His recent commissions include a new tuba concerto for the Brazosport Symphony, a wind band piece for the Shorewood Wind Band Consortium, a major work for bassoon and string trio for CD release in the fall of 2015, and more.

As the winner of the Tribeca New Music 2016 Young Composer Competition, Division 2, Grant will receive a $1,000 award, and his piece Arborea will be performed on an upcoming Tribeca New Music 2016 Festival concert in NYC.


Runners Up
Congratulations to everyone who participated in this national competition.  In addition to the First Place piece, Tribeca New Music wishes to acknowledge some of the other exceptional works that were entered:

• The Honorable Mention category recognizes the top tier of compositions that were in contention to win.

• The Emerging Composers category recognizes those who have shown great promise with their entries.

Honorable Mentions (in alphabetical order)

Sofia Belimova for her Water
Ryan Lindveit for his Word Salads
J.P. Redmond for his Northeastern Sonata
Renata Vallecillo for her Loca’s Heaven
Tissiana Vallecillo for her Rumbling Heart
Jason Vassiliou for his Duet for Two Violins: Praeludium
Benjamin Wenzelberg for his Lunar Brushstrokes

Emerging Composers (in alphabetical order)

Samuel Boyce for his Rising Wind
Caroline Bragg for her Vast Skies
Bram Fisher for his Chronologies
Max Friedman for his Nicht Schleppen!
Michael Gaspari for his Dark Illusion
Stella G. Gitelman Willoughby for her Led, a trio for Alto Flute, Vibraphone and Violin
Yusei Hata for his Shrek Ears
Spencer Haynes for his Pained Memories
Sharon Hurvitz for her Words Without Songs
Hannah Ishizaki for her Chronicles
Liam Kaplan for his String Quartet
Marina Lee for her Three Preludes for Solo Piano
Cooper Myers for his Sounds Like String Quartet
Jonathan Petrini for his Sonata in C Minor (Movement 1)
Lila Quillin for her Delta
Avik Sarkar for his A Separate Unity
Paul Stelben for his Spiritual Wonder
Molly Turner for her Snow Lake
Christina Xiao for her Fun on Vacation
Jenny Yao for her Mystic Rites